WTCR Oscaro : The beginner’s guide

For the two next seasons, the FIA WTCC will be remplaced by the WTCR Oscaro. A few weeks out from the start of the 2018 season, the Team Oscaro goes through the new ruleset.

Last December, the World Motorsport Council voted in Paris, the creation of the World Touring Car Cup. Out with the old FIA WTCC, and in with the new FIA WTCR Oscaro. A category born from the fusion of the WTCC and the TCR, following an agreement between the FIA, the World Sportscar Championship (owner of the TCR brand and concept), and the promoter of the WTCR, Eurosport Events.

The technical rules of TCR

If John Filippi, Team Oscaro driver, thinks “the new ruleset is excellent, because the cards will be redistributed”, it isn’t certain to be excellent news for all. The former TC1 drivers will have to adapt as quickly as possible, to a new car category. This year, the WTCR will be raced under TCR rules, defined as “more affordable” by the FIA.

For the 2018 and 2019 seasons, the FIA explains on their website that “only the cars with TCR homologation by the WSC and assigned a FIA WTCR Oscaro passport will be eligible.“. Only front-wheel drive cars, four or five-door sedans, or hatchbacks, using production turbo engines with a capacity between 1750 and 2000 cc, limited to maximum 350 hp, can compete in what looks to be one of the most exciting seasons ever driven.

More races, more drivers

This season, a maximum of 28 drivers will be able to take place on the starting grid. 26 season entries, and two “wildcards” (at the discretion of EEL and the FIA). A whopping twelve extra drivers compared to last season.

Another major change: the weekend format. For each of the ten weekends on the calendars, the competitors will take part in three races (two in 2017). Each weekend will be split up in this manner:

Day 1: Free Practice 1 (30 minutes) ; Free Practice 2 (30 minutes) ; Qualifications Race 1 (30 minutes) ; Race 1 (The top 10 will be awarded points as such: 27-20-17-14-12-10-8-6-4-2).

Day 2: Qualifications Q1 (25 minutes), Qualifications Q2 (10 minutes), Qualifications Q3 (top 5 shoot out), Race 2 (top 10 inversed after Q2, points awarded: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1), Course 3 (grid defined after Q3 order, Top 10 points order : 30-23-19-16-13-10-7-4-2-1).

The season starts in Marrakech on April 7th and 8th, on the Circuit Moulay El Hassan. No constructors title will be awarded at the end of the season.


Discover the news of WTCC

To read also