(Sim) Racer

In Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, on February 2nd and 3rd, the Race of Champions took place. A race that gathers some of the best racing drivers in the world. Kévin Leaune, Team Oscaro member, was invited. We bring you behind the scenes in our film.

A first for eROC

When the “simracers” become “racers”. For this 29th edition, the ROC organisers decided to innovate. For the first time since the creation of the event, 5 virtual drivers were invited. However, only two would get the chance to go up against their idols during the ROC Nations Cup in Team “Simracing All Stars”. One seat being reserved for Rudy Van Buren, eSports driver with McLaren, the second was destined for the winner of the first eROC in history.

During the week-end, four “simracers”, the best on the planet, competed on simulators, but also on the real track. Among them, Kévin Leaune, a 28 year old from Nice, triple world champion on Project Cars that we introduced you to in “The end of a Dream”. Against the first winner of the F1 eSports Series, Brendon Leigh (United Kingdom), Blancpain Sprint iRacing champion Enzo Bonito (Italy) and eWTCC champion Alexander Dornieden (Germany), the Team Oscaro driver had some serious performance.

Coulthard, champions of champions

After a excellent drive on the track, Kévin didn’t perform on the simulator. He finishes third overall, 9 points off eROC champion Enzo Bonito.

The Italian was offered the opportunity to race against Johan Kristofferson, Petter Solberg and even David Coulthard during the ROC Nations Cup. And the least we can say is that he perfectly represented eSport during the competition. Enzo Bonito pulled off some good performances, finishing only 0.4 of a second behind Petter Solberg, and 1.5 seconds off David Coulthard.

The two sporting legends went up head-to-head, in the big ROC final. After knocking out Juan Pablo Montoya and Tom Kristensen, the Scot defeated the Norwegian champion, winning by two races to none.

(Sim) Racer

Les 2 et 3 février derniers, s’est déroulé à Riyad (Arabie Saoudite), la Race of Champions, une course qui rassemble quelques-uns des meilleurs pilotes automobiles du monde. Kévin Leaune, membre du Team Oscaro, y était invité. Retrouvez notre inside.

Première pour la eROC

Quand les « simracers », deviennent des « racers ». Pour cette 29ème édition, les organisateurs de la ROC ont décidé d’innover.  Pour la première fois depuis la création de l’évènement, cinq pilotes virtuels y étaient invités. Cependant, seulement deux d’entre eux ont eu la chance de défier leurs idoles durant la ROC Nations Cup, au sein de l’équipe « Simracing All Stars ».  Si un baquet était réservé à Rudy Van Buren, pilote eSport de McLaren, le second était dévolu au vainqueur de la première eRoc de l’histoire.

Durant le week-end, quatre « simracers », les meilleurs de la planète, se sont affrontés sur simulateur, mais aussi sur circuit. Parmi eux, Kévin Leaune, un niçois de 28 ans, triple champion du monde de Project CARS que nous vous avions fait découvrir dans « Au bout du rêve ». Face au premier vainqueur des F1 Esports Series, Brendon Leigh (Grande-Bretagne), au champion Blancpain Sprint sur iRacing, Enzo Bonito (Italie), et au vainqueur du championnat WTCC en ligne, Alexander Dornieden (Allemagne), le pilote du Team Oscaro a montré de très belles choses.

Coulthard, taille patron

Après une excellente performance sur route, Kévin a malheureusement perdu ses moyens sur le simulateur. Il ne terminera qu’a la troisième place du classement, à neuf longueurs de l’heureux élu, Enzo Bonito.

L’Italien s’est vu offrir le privilège de pouvoir rouler contre Johan Kristofferson, Petter Solberg ou encore David Coulthard, lors de la ROC Nations Cup.  Et le moins que l’on puisse dire c’est qu’il a parfaitement représenté le eSport lors de la compétition. Enzo Bonito a fait trembler ses adversaires, terminant seulement à 0,4’’ Petter Solberg, et à 1,5’’ de David Coulthard.

Les deux légendes du sport automobile se sont d’ailleurs retrouvées face à face, lors de la grande finale de la ROC. Après s’être débarrassé tour à tour de Juan Pablo Montoya et de Tom Kristensen, le Britannique est venu à bout du champion norvégien, en s’imposant deux courses à zéro.